The Copyright Society of the South was formed in 1988, in Nashville, Tennessee, consisting of music publishers, attorneys, business people and academians interested in the field of copyright law. Its mission is to provide a forum for study and discussion of domestic and international copyright law and other matters pertaining to the entertainment industry. It provides seminars, speakers, presentations, and the opportunity to present various points of view on subjects of interest to the membership. The Society refrains from taking a lobbying role or endorsing or sponsoring political positions or candidates


The Society Board plans and schedules regular luncheons or other events offering speakers, seminars, and informational presentations of interest to the membership.  Luncheons are generally scheduled on a monthly basis with the exception of a break in the summer months.  Past speakers have included:

  • Stan Soocher – Assoc. Prof. Music & Entertainment, University of Colorado, and Editor-in-Chief of Entertainment Law & Finance
  • Jacqueline Charlesworth – General Counsel and Associate Register of Copyrights – U.S. Copyright Office
  • Mary Beth Peters – Copyright Office/Library of Congress
  • Senator Orrin Hatch
  • Mitch Glazier – RIAA
  • Bob Kohn – Author of “On Music Licensing”
  • US Representative-Marsha Blackburn
  • Jim Vines- Department of Justice
  • John Simson – Soundexchange
  • Bart Herbison – NSAI

The Society’s Board of Directors:

      Tara Aaron
      Aaron | Sanders PLLC


      Jodi Carmichael


      Janice Bane
      Barbershop Harmony Society


      Karl Braun
      Hall, Booth & Smith


    • John Barker
      ClearBox Rights


    • Wendi Crosby York
      Major Bob Music


    • Kent Draughon
      Capitol CMG Publishing


    • Ted Goldthorpe
      Sony/ATV Music Publishing


    • Sam Powers
      O’Neil Hagaman, PLLC


    • Denise Stevens
      Loeb & Loeb


    • Lifetime Honorary Director
      Richard Frank, Jr.